

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President New Executive Office Building

New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 25, 2008

Contact: Kristin Scuderi (202) 456-6124 <u>kscuderi@ostp.eop.gov</u>

PRESIDENT BUSH ANNOUNCES THE RECIPIENTS OF THE 2007 NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE AND THE 2007 NATIONAL MEDAL OF TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION

WASHINGTON—Today President George W. Bush announced the recipients of the Nation's highest honor for science and technology, naming the recipients of the 2007 National Medal of Science and the 2007 National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

The National Medal of Science honors individuals for pioneering scientific research in a range of fields, including physical, biological, mathematical, social, behavioral, and engineering sciences, that enhances our understanding of the world and leads to innovations and technologies that give the United States its global economic edge. The National Science Foundation administers the award, which was established by Congress in 1959. For more information about the National Medal of Science visit www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/nms/medal.htm.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation honors America's leading innovators. The award is given to individuals, teams, and/or companies/divisions for their outstanding contributions to the nation's economic, environmental and social well-being through the development and commercialization of technology products, processes and concepts; technological innovation; and development of the Nation's technological manpower. The Department of Commerce administers the award, which was established by an act of Congress in 1980. For more information about the National Medal of Technology and Innovation visit: http://www.uspto.gov/nmti

The 2007 National Medal of Science Laureates:

Fay Ajzenberg-Selove, University of Pennsylvania—Philadelphia, PA Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Georgia Institute of Technology—Atlanta, GA Leonard Kleinrock, University of California, Los Angeles—Los Angeles, CA Robert J. Lefkowitz, Duke University Medical Center—Durham, NC Bert W. O'Malley, Baylor College of Medicine—Houston, TX Charles P. Slichter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign— Urbana, IL Andrew J. Viterbi, University of Southern California—Los Angeles, CA David J. Wineland, National Institute of Standards and Technology—Boulder, CO

The 2007 National Medal of Technology and Innovation Laureates:

Paul Baran, Novo Ventures, Inc.—Atherton, CA
Roscoe O. Brady, National Institutes of Health—Bethesda, MD
David Cutler, Microsoft Corporation—Medina, WA
Armand Feigenbaum, General Systems Company, Inc.—Pittsfield, MA
Adam Heller, University of Texas, Austin—Austin, TX
Carlton Grant Willson, University of Texas, Austin—Austin, TX
eBay Inc.—San Jose, CA
Skunk Works, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company—Palmdale, CA

###